February 23, 2024

What Does Recently Joined Mean on Snapchat?

If you receive a notification that someone from your contact list has “recently joined Snapchat,” it simply means that their account is new. Snapchat accesses your phone’s contacts (with permission) to identify users who may be new to the app. This allows you to connect with new friends and explore their content and experiences.

When someone you have on your phone’s contact list creates a new Snapchat account, their name may appear in your notification with an X icon if they are not currently a friend on Snapchat. This X is not a warning, but rather an indication that they have not accepted your friend request or added you as a friend on Snapchat. You can still view their snaps and stories by searching for them or scanning their username.

Often, the X will disappear from your Snapchat when they either add you as a friend or you remove them. You can also adjust your Snapchat privacy settings to control how you’re notified of your friends’ activities and who has access to your public story.

Some people mistakenly assume that if their friends’ accounts have the Recently Joined tag, that they’ve just appeared on their Quick Add list. However, this is not the case. Adding or removing friends from your Quick Add list does not cause the Recently Joined tag to appear or disappear.

This is Charm SEO

At Charm SEO, we empower businesses to reach their full online potential. Our team of experts specializes in creating tailored digital marketing strategies that drive traffic, enhance brand visibility, and boost conversions. Let us help you navigate the digital landscape with our innovative and results-driven solutions.